Sullivan Announces 2021 Military Service Academy Nominations

WASHINGTON, D.C.—U.S. Senator Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska) today announced the names of 41 young Alaskans he nominated to the U.S. Military Service Academies. Senator Sullivan made his selections with the help of an Academy Review Board, comprised of ten members from across Alaska, many of whom are service academy graduates. The board reviewed applications, interviewed each of the applicants, and made recommendations to the senator. 

“This year’s selection of candidates was exceptional, as always, with each young Alaskan exhibiting academic excellence, demonstrated leadership, and a commitment to serving their community and nation,” said Sen. Sullivan. “This was certainly a challenging cycle for applicants as they navigated school and college applications amid the COVID-19 pandemic. But they all rose to the challenge, and I am incredibly excited to see what they will do next.

“I also want to commend the work and support of members of the review board. This is a dedicated group that very much enjoyed interacting with these bright young Alaskans. I am thankful for all they do, including volunteering countless hours of their own time, to strengthen and add their expertise and experience to this process.”

Members of the Alaska congressional delegation work closely with one another to maximize the opportunities for Alaska men and women to receive nominations to the academies. The nominations allow the applicants to compete for appointments to the academies. Appointments are offered individually by the academies.

Senator Sullivan’s Class of 2025 U.S. Military Service Academy nominees are as follows:

U.S. Air Force Academy:

Haley Boron, Haines  

Gavin Buchanan, Juneau

Leon Calvin Daugherty, Eagle River

Jackson Egbert, Eagle River  

Avery Kreischer, Juneau        

Bradley Mackin, Anchorage  

Luke Millam, Fairbanks

Kai Miner, Anchorage

Aine Nakada, Anchorage       

Rachel Ninan, Eagle River    

Nicholas Price, Anchorage    

Rylee Price, Eagle River        

Alfonso Puma, Juneau

Garrett Renfro, Anchorage

John Stevenson, Anchorage   

Daniel Stone, Eagle River     

Jeremy Szczepankiewicz, JBER       

Conner Trouy, Wasilla

Cade Van Meter, Eagle River

Tucker Vann, Kenai


U.S. Merchant Marine Academy: 

Leon Calvin Daugherty, Eagle River

Edward Gaynor, Kodiak

Conrad Johnson, Eagle River

Justin Lafferty, Chugiak

Earl Landon McDowell, Wasilla       

Francis Sherman III, Ketchikan

Laura Sherrill, Ketchikan

Daniel Stone, Eagle River


U.S. Military Academy:

Alexandra Altenburg, JBER

Garrett Campbell, Fairbanks

Riley Graves, Kenai

Lois Hwang, Fort Wainwright

Kai Miner, Anchorage           

Jagan Nautiyal , Fairbanks

Caitlin Omey, Anchorage

Christopher Orta, Anchorage

Evelyn Park, Anchorage        

Collin Turchetto, Anchorage 


U.S. Naval Academy:

Kassidy Allen, Palmer

Gavin Buchanan, Juneau

Samuel Ellinwood, Anchorage

Kael Gerlach, Glennallen

Alyssa Hargis, Eagle River

Trinity Heine, Anchorage

Justin Lafferty, Chugiak

Earl Landon McDowell, Wasilla

Petra Schwaab, JBER

Daniel Stone, Eagle River


Note: The U.S. Coast Guard Academy does not require a congressional nomination for its application.

Senator Sullivan’s Service Academy Selection Board:

  • Anita Baker - Anchorage
  • Eric Feige – Chickaloon 
  • Grace Greene – Girdwood 
  • Win Gruening – Juneau 
  • Dan Kennedy – Wasilla 
  • Tom Senter – Anchorage/Nikiski 
  • Mark Smith – Haines 
  • Bill Thomas – Haines 
  • Amy Woodward – Eagle River 
  • Keenan Zerkel – Anchorage 
  • Kathlene Rowell  – Staff director for nominations 

# # #