Senate Approves Sullivan-Kaine Resolution Commending Taiwan’s Commitment to Democracy on Eve of Taiwan Election

WASHINGTON—U.S. Senators Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), a member of the Congressional-Executive Commission on China (CECC) and the Senate Armed Services Committee (SASC), and Tim Kaine (D-Va.), a member of SASC and the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, applauded the Senate’s unanimous passage of their resolution today commending Taiwan for its commitment to democratic elections and institutions, despite ongoing threats from the Chinese Communist Party. This resolution comes prior to Taiwan’s upcoming presidential and legislative elections set to occur on Saturday, January 13. Both senators spoke on the Senate floor today prior to the resolution’s passage.

“This is a volatile and potentially dangerous time,” Sen. Sullivan said. “Between the election on January 13th and the inauguration in May, the United States needs to show steady, unwavering commitment and resolve in support of Taiwan’s democracy and—critically—we need to enhance cross-strait deterrence now. The important resolution my Senate colleagues and I passed unanimously today will help accomplish that.

“This will be Taiwan’s eighth presidential election. In my own career, I deployed as part of a Marine Corps task force on the eve of Taiwan’s first presidential election when Beijing was threatening to invade Taiwan and shooting missiles over the island. Today, Taiwan is considered one of the freest countries in the world. Every Taiwan election threatens the central premise of the Chinese Communist Party—that one dictator ruling in perpetuity knows what’s best for 1.4 billion people. Millions of Chinese on the mainland will be watching Taiwan’s upcoming election and asking the question, ‘Why can’t we do that?’ This is a giant vulnerability for Xi Jinping.”

“Taiwan’s respect for human rights, freedom of religion, free press, and a successful economy has borne proof to the notion that allowing all Taiwanese to participate in democracy has been wonderful for Taiwanese society,” said Sen. Kaine. “We need to stand strong and support Taiwanese democracy. I'm proud to lead this resolution with the support of so many of our colleagues on both sides of the aisle.”

Representatives Gerry Connolly (D-Va.), Mario Diaz-Balart (R-Fla.), Ami Bera (D-Calif.), and Andy Barr (R-Kent.) plan to introduce companion legislation in the House.

The Senate resolution’s co-sponsors include Sens. Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Eric Schmitt (R-Mo.), Pete Ricketts (R-Neb.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Ted Budd (R-N.C.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Todd Young (R-Ind.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Rick Scott (R-Fl.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Raphael Warnock (D-Ga.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Katie Britt (R-Ala.), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Catherine Cortez-Masto (D-Nev.), Kyrsten Sinema (I-Ariz.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), John Kennedy (R-La.), John Hickenlooper (D-Colo.), and Tom Cotton (R-Ark.).

# # #